Two Miserable Weeks

Ever break-up or have a terrible fight suddenly with the love of your life?

What did you do?  Cry, scream “Why Me?”  “What’s wrong With ME?”  Or perhaps it was the “That S O B” and other choice words shouted in anger.   Did you drink more than normal.  Eat a whole large works pizza.  Devour a big bag of miniature candy bars, or the quart of chocolate chip ice cream.  Maybe you went shopping, and maxed out the credit card. Talk your best friends ear off while crying on the phone.

What ever you did that’s what Carla went through.  She felt betrayed, anger. She couldn’t call her best friend, Mary Kate; who she thought had also betrayed her.  Never trusting another man type of hurt.  Worse was she had to face all the people at work, that she was sure had heard all about the fight from Paula.

Craig called his best friend Allan.

Craig however didn’t work, he had a broken nose, black eye and bruised ribs. “I have to figure a way to convince her I didn’t do that I’m innocent”? Every time he moved he hurt. The black eye was starting to clear up when Allan knocked on the door.
“Hey, come on in.” “Wow did she do this to you Craig”? “Yes, she is a class act till you cross her, and I know better than any one else, what she is capable of. I almost got her hand across my face, while she was driving about a year ago. One of my stupid college jock tricks. And when she’s mad, she can out drive me on the fairway, dead center on the 250 yard marker. Bad temper! Any way, I will survive but I need her in my life Allan, help me”!

“I send her a red rose bud every Monday, but this week I sent her a dozen. Mark Smith said they went in the trash. Who sent the email that’s what I want to know, Allan”?

“Who is this A. May Riddle anyway”? “Not really sure, but I am checking with Blackie Riddle, do you remember him”? “Yes, if he’s from the lake and a cop, I know him, why did you ask him”? “He is the only Riddle I know; and this seems to be a real malicious riddle. Will you talk to her for me Allan, please”! Craig pleaded, with a grimacing look as he moved. “Still hurts Craig”? “Yes”.
“Ok where can I find her this weekend Craig”? “At the wedding reception over at Lakehouse it’s Selma, I can’t remember the last name.” “Selma Brown’s wedding, I have an invite, she’s a client of mine. I’ll pick you up here at 7 and well go talk to her Craig, in the mean time I would try some other flowers and maybe a bauble or two! You get in more messes with women than any guy I know.” Allan was shaking his head back and forth.
“Craig have you eaten lately” “No Allan, not hungry, well you’re going to eat something today, get dressed”. “Oh I don’t” “Get dressed, if Carla would see you looking like this it’ll only make things worse, cause you actually look guilty as hell right now”! “OK, give me a few minutes to shower”.

“Howard, just what did Samuel say that night at the Café”? Allan asked. “Then the fight did happen and she got that fake email I am assuming Craig called you”! “Yes, he’s getting cleaned up, she may be small, but packs a mean punch, I’m taking him to get some food, he looks like hell and not eating! Well, Howard did he say that”? “Yes Allan he did”! “

Leave a Reply

