Carla’s Upset

Secret Treasurs web pg 4.18.13 book cover  412796_XLThe newlyweds decide to tackle the attic and see what  treasures lurk behind the door. They joke about dust bunnies and cooties they would find. However, the direction of their day was about to change.

Craig smiled at her, “We’re probably going to have more dust bunnies bothering us than cooties today my lady!”

“Craig, after everything that happened yesterday I need upbeat music today. Yesterday reminded me of some things I’d rather not remember.” Carla made her request in a low voice hoping he got her intention.

Craig watched her for a few minutes, aware that she had been very quiet after the incident yesterday morning and she was not acting like her normal self. “I’ll be back in a few minutes.” He ran upstairs looking for her calendar, checked the date, and decided it was safe for him to pry, something was wrong.

“Carla we don’t have to do the attic today if you’d rather talk something out. You were tossing around a lot in your sleep last night!” Craig asked touching her back.

“I was!” Carla inquired turning around to face him.

“Yes” He nodded his head.

“Well I haven’t done that in a while. Are you a good listener Craig, or should I call my counselor,” Carla asked blushing.

“Choose your beverage and location, I am all ears!” Craig smiled with a somewhat serious look on his face as he waited for her reply.

“Get us two bottles of Bordeaux and meet me upstairs at the big window by our room, I’ll get the glasses.”

“Ok Mrs. Jones, bottles are opened and glasses filled. The floor and view is all yours. Now what should I say.” As Craig sat down at the window seat looking at his wife.

“It’s my turn to go next Craig. This is my session! Oh, how much do you charge for an hour?”

“Depends” Craig smiled kissing her cheek. “Probably nothing since you’re testing my ability, I’ll take it out in trade!”

Carla looked out at the lake before she spoke “When I was a young girl . . . my Mother, Linda Sue died of colon cancer, I think she was 32. I do not remember a lot about her, just the few things Granny told me. She said I looked just like her and I honestly believe she watches over me sometimes.” Carla sipped some wine “Like yesterday, I felt like someone was lying on top of me to keep me still. I wish I had a picture of her to show you.” Craig saw tears welling up in her eyes and patted her hand.

Carla continued after a drink of her wine, “My brother Charlie, Charles Nathan Sharp was a hunk, just like you Mr. Jones. There are things you do especially when were in the water that bring back memories of Charlie. Charlie was a jock in school he lettering in football and basketball. He’s the one who got me interested in running and taught me to swim.”

Empting her glass Carla continued, “He was only 17 when he died. The bus he was in was, hit head on by a semi. It was 3 days before his high school graduation. Our little town just outside of Rockford lost eight good kids that day. I was only 13.” Craig brought some tissues from their bedroom and set them between them. “More wine please,” Carla asked holding out her glass to him.

“Seeing Mark lying there, it was like seeing Charlie. Someone made me holler for you and Howard, maybe it was Charlie. I hope Mark will be ok!” Carla was staring out the window as Craig said “Honey he’s going to be ok, down for the count for a while, but he’ll be ok.”

Leave a Reply

