Ah Ha Moment

Secret Treasurs web pg 4.18.13 book cover  412796_XLCarla and Craig are sitting in front of the big picture window overlooking the lake, drinking wine and talking.  The subject is Mark…

Quietly Carla looked out at the lake before she spoke “More wine please. I felt that when he helped me in Chicago, he kept touching me or trying to hold me.” Taking a drink, she continued on, “I was actually glad that you were there, it was a distraction Mark was forced to quit touching me. At work he would just walk into my office and stand there watching me. God that was so freaky.” She shivered sitting down on his lap sipping more of her wine Craig put his arm around her.

Carla looked in his eyes as she asked. “Remember shortly after I came back to work, you and I started getting acquainted. Mark said he wanted to see how  was doing and to meet him; that was the night you introduced me to Howard.” Craig lowered his head, remembering the feeling of jealousy he had felt that night he looked up to her and said.

“Oh yeah, Howard and Mark both got in my face that night, I understood Howard’s anger, I was still married, but I did not understand Mark till much later. Why, Carla?”

She took a deep breath and exhaled, finishing her statement, “Because, Mark had me to himself, until you walked in the room, that’s when I saw the red daggers. So does this jive with what you started to talk about?”

Craig downed his glass and refilled both glasses, thinking of how he wanted to explain his theory of what happened yesterday morning. “Yes honey it does! It also explains why he was trying to go up the stairs. He was trying to get to you. If he was going for the booze, we probably wouldn’t have heard them.” Craig pulled her into his arms and held her tight. Carla had suddenly lost all of her coloring, “Ok baby.”

Carla looked up “Yes, I think we need my body-guard.”

Craig smiled and softly whispered, “I know we do.”

Leave a Reply

