Deep Trouble

“Samuel, how are you?” Mark asked as he answered his phone, walking out of the bedroom where he and Paula were talking.

“Are you in a quiet place to talk, I need to bring you up to speed on Craig?”

Samuel stated, waiting for Mark’s reply. “Yea I can talk now, what’s up? Paula and I are headed to our court dates tomorrow.”

“Here’s the scoop Mark; the bastard fired me, via a fucking voice mail. He didn’t even have the guts to tell me face to face!” Samuel was screaming into the phone.

“Why?” Mark inquired as he could hear something hit the floor.

“All Craig said was he doesn’t believe that I have his best interest at heart anymore and his life’s goals and agenda have changed. It’s Carla I just know it, she’s such a controlling bitch!”

“Wow Samuel, that’s some strong words.”

“She has taken control of our cash cow, watch yourself my friend . . . you know she has him wrapped around her finger. He even has the whole property set up with a security system and a big wrought iron fence. Now you have to ask to get on his property! What the hell, he’s acting like he’s…”

Mark imagined what Samuel looked like right now that balding head turning beat red and pacing the floor, he heard something break. “Samuel calm down. Surely, there is a logical explanation. There was an incident not too long ago.”

“But Howard didn’t do the fencing. I called and asked him. He said that was Craig’s business if he wanted to use someone else.”

“Samuel calm down, surely you have other client’s, just move on!”

“Mark you’re not listening to me damn It HE was my business . . . You can’t live on flimsy
divorce cases from nuts like Aileen, she said he would be worth it, and she was right. I focused on him only, this phone call from him cost me 50 K!”

“What? Samuel you have other clients?”

“NO MARK I’m warning you he’s become tighter than a . . .” “I’m leaving town!”

Mark started talking “But Samuel you’re representing us . . .”

The only sound was the dial tone Mark closed his phone, his legs giving way as he dropped down hard on the floor, and screamed out. “Shit, we’re in deep trouble Paula!”

Leave a Reply

