Jake called

“Oh” Carla sniffled and wiped a tear away.

“Yes Craig we’re ok. With everything that’s been going on I forgot to tell you something Craig. I need a hug please.” Craig squeezed her tight and wouldn’t let go.

Carla continued, “The other day I had a phone call from Jake Covertry. He wanted to make sure I was happy and to tell me that he would be there as well as AC to testify.”

Craig lessened his hold and put his arm around her. “Was the call good for you to finalize things with him?”

“Yes we parted as friends the first time and I usually hear from him at least once a year. In fact, Howard’s towing away the Chevy finalized everything. He gave me that car to start my first job. It was used. So you don’t have to worry about Jake or any feelings I still have for him. I’m yours and only yours.”

Craig kissed her cheek and pulled her close. “Let’s hit the sack. I’m wasted.” Craig explained.

Carla said, “Mr. Jones, I didn’t take the red sheets off.”

“That’s ok I just want to hold you all night anyway, we can use them again. Actually I miss those black ones, they were comfy.”

Leave a Reply

